Choppin’ broccoli

Life has been a little slow on the farm the last couple of days. It’s probably due to the fact that both David and I were out-of-town this past weekend. Some things though, remain moving full speed ahead such as the garden. Therefore, I thought I’d update you all on that. I know, I know, yawn. Don’t we all wish for goats screaming and coyotes running the vineyard on a daily basis? Much more exciting.

I have to admit though, watching my garden grow at an incredibly fast rate kind of gives me the same adrenaline rush. Well, sort of.

Minus the melon plant that never rooted down and the magical disappearance of the few strawberries I had (somehow they had been delicately chewed off…ISIS!) everything else is flourishing.

Here are a few updated pictures of our broccoli. I’m not sure about you but whenever I hear the word broccoli, I automatically start singing, “choppin’ broccoli.” Do any of you know what I am referring to? It is from a Dana Carvy skit on Saturday night live from back in the late 80’s, early 90’s. Anyway, I crack myself up every morning singing it to my growing broccoli. Here they are…

Our lettuce, which is planted in the old cart on the deck, is growing at an alarming rate as well. David warned me that eventually we’d have way more lettuce then we’d ever be able to eat, just like he warned me about the eggs. I’m starting to see a theme here.

I’m beginning to wondering if we in fact can eat all this food. David tried to warn me that 10 different lettuce starts will produce a lot of lettuce? While at the nursery a couple of weeks ago I told him, “it’s okay babe, I LOVE salads.” It’s been two weeks since we’ve been able to eat the lettuce and I’m already running out of ideas to get creative with salad. I’m starting to image it consuming our whole deck, busting through windows, and taking over our kitchen…something straight out of Little Shop of Horrors.

I plucked some leaves this morning so they look a little picked through in the pictures below but trust me, these little guys really do grow at an uncontrollable rate. Don’t let their momentary frailness fool you.

I’m assuming that with the upcoming weather forecast (up in the 80’s) and the unusual muggy weather we are having, the garden will be something completely different next week.

Stay tuned

This entry was posted in Farm Life, Garden, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Choppin’ broccoli

  1. Gina says:

    I’m headed your way (visiting a friend in Rockaway Beach) the last weekend in June…I’ll take some lettuce and eggs off your hands;)

Leave a Reply

