my personal challenge

This is Sally. Sally Singer Sewing Machine.Yes, I named her. It’s the least I could do considering she has yet to be used and has spent the last year and a half sitting in a storage unit while I traveled the world.

I got her about three years ago for my birthday and she has yet to be touched. At all. Not even once. I remember asking for a sewing machine because growing up my mom always sewed and I’ve always thought it was something I’d like to learn how to do one day.

In 7th grade, I took home economics and during our sewing portion of class, we made little itty bitty pillows as one of our assignments. I think I still may even have it tucked away in one of my many ‘childhood memory’ boxes. But that is about the extent of my sewing history.

The other day I was thinking about some of the projects I would like to accomplish for the house. As easy as it would be to go out and buy what I’m thinking of, I’ve decided to give myself the personal challenge of learning about my sewing machine. Mainly, how it works. I mean, it can’t be that hard to guide some fabric in a straight line as a needle and thread move up and down right?

So here is my mission and yes, I’ve fully accepted and taken it on. I’m going to sew a new pillow case for the accent pillow pictured below.

I think this first task should be relatively easy.  Like I said, one straight line. No problem.

I’m giving myself two weeks to finish this project. That means this little project of mine needs to be finished and in it’s new home on our bed by July 31st. In order to complete this challenge, I need to get to the fabric store, pick out the perfect fabric, learn all about my sewing machine, oh yeah, I lost the manual, and finally, sew the pillow case and stuff it.

Ready, set, go!

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to my personal challenge

  1. murphysrun says:

    Good luck with your project! I also liked your famer’s market post. Keep writing!

  2. Make sure you show us the results! I love sewing too- fabric stores are like candy to me!

    • Amanda says:

      I will! That is why I posted it. To hold myself accountable. I love fabric stores as well. I use to go to them with my mom growing up and there is something nostalgic about them now for me.

  3. A pillow is a good sewing project to start with. You can probably handle adding some fancy trim too if you’re up to the challenge. Once you’ve got that mastered, you can try pajama pants if you want to start working with a pattern and making clothes. Remember, measure twice and cut once!

    There are also some great tutorials on YouTube of stitches if you forgot some things.

    ~Julie

    • Amanda says:

      Thank you! I definitely need the advice and I definitely appreciate it!

      • You’re welcome! When you’re searching for clothing patterns, look for ones specifically marked “easy.” If I remember correctly, McCalls and Butterick are good pattern companies to start with. Buy patterns when they’re on sale too – some can be almost $20!

      • Julie says:

        I should also add, and you may know this already, to wash your fabric first before sewing. Your machine may also need to be oiled too since it’s been sitting for so long.

      • Amanda says:

        Thanks so much for the advice!

  4. Pingback: finished project: antique dresser | Bullfrogs and Bulldogs

Leave a Reply

