dear readers…

We need your help. As I mentioned in an earlier post, we are getting chickens and originally we were going to have a stand still chicken coop but for agricultural purposes we’ve decided on a mobile coop. Do any of you happen to know of any good mobile chicken coop layouts, designs, or plans online? We’d greatly appreciate you advice!

Also, would it be wise to just get full-grown chickens to start and next spring get chicks or if possible, can we get chick late summer/early fall? HELP!

Much appreciated,

Amanda

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to dear readers…

  1. Nina says:

    Hi Amanda!
    Have you heard of Joel Salatin from PolyFace Farm? He has a very cool Eggmobil. He is very generous with farmers that are doing projects for the fist time, I am sure he can direct or give you some great ideas. Here is his website link http://www.polyfacefarms.com/default.aspx
    He is in facebook as well under Polyface Farm. Good luck and do not hurt yourself 🙂
    In health,
    Nina

  2. Julie says:

    I can’t speak on the mobile coops, but I can personally testify that getting older pullets is a great idea if you’re just starting. I ordered 16-week old pullets from a hatchery in Ohio (they will ship to other states if you’re interested). When I picked them up, they had their beaks trimmed and all their vaccines and started laying eggs within a week. Buying them older, in my opinion, gives them a good start and newbie owners won’t have to stress over their first weeks of life. Peeps require constant monitoring.

  3. Jodi Stone says:

    I wanted to get chickens but my hubby said no, so I’m sorry I cannot help. I’m sure you googled it. I always find great ideas and products by just googling.

  4. Viv says:

    I started out with older hens, I got 1 year old layers from an organic farm. They were fantastic hens to start with, very easy care. Later we moved onto getting eggs for our broody hens and hatching ourselves. Now we have a very mixed flock including a fine rooster that looks a bit like Foghorn Leghorn 🙂

    Our chooks are not mobile, but are let out to free-range each day after lunch. We are very exposed to the wind here, so a mobile chook house would get blown away. I know friends who do, just moving the small house an accompanying house once a week or so.

    • Amanda says:

      Great info! We have a vineyard and tons of pasture. We are getting a heifer and her calf soon and want to use the chickens as a way to naturally clean up the pastures. I’m a little worried about them getting killed by hawks and such but we shall see!

  5. Jim says:

    Try this site. More variations on a chicken coop than you can shake a drumstick at:
    http://www.backyardchickens.com/coopdesigns.html

    • Amanda says:

      Thanks Jim! Funny, I was just looking at the Briar Rose Creamery website! I absolutely love your goat cheese truffles!

Leave a Reply

