apples, cherries, walnuts oh my!

Apples on one of the trees in our backyard

When I first moved to the farm I knew that we had a couple of apple trees and a few cherry trees but as everything is coming into full bloom, I am realizing that a couple is more like many. Too many for two people alone. What to do with all these apples and cherries? Oh, and the walnuts. It turns out that before it was a tree farm and now a vineyard, it was a walnut farm. So we have several walnut trees surrounding the house. I hate seeing things go to waste yet know very little about harvesting apples, cherries, and even more so, walnuts. Any advice?

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to apples, cherries, walnuts oh my!

  1. Joan says:

    Hello Amanda, I wish I was there to pick some…WOW walnuts too! I know what you mean…we have about a 100 feet of rasberries…spreading, some older, some new, pruning, picking, storing, canning (not yet)??? and wondering what else to do. Wine, jelly, smoothies, eating as you pick, pick, and pick more daily.

    I would look into some of the community organizations that pick fresh fruit etc. that will go to waste and delivers this to the foodbanks. I have only heard some about these concepts so don’t know the details.

    good luck with your bounty!

    Joan

  2. Renee says:

    Check Out These Websites. http://www.gardenguides.com & http://www.garden.org – you can do a search on harvesting apples, cherries & walnuts. One thing you are going to want to know is the variety of the fruits and nuts you have and then you can determine how to harvest. Your local nursery should be able to help out with identification – call them and ask them what you need to bring in for identification, some nurseries may be able to come to you too! Good Luck!

  3. Lisa says:

    If you don’t want to pick it all or let it go to was, you could advertise on Freecycle allowing people to come and pick. I’ve been lucky enough to pick plums and pears this way. You could also contact local gleaners or Salem Harvest (http://www.salemharvest.org); they can arrange a couple of picks at your place and 1/2 of what pickers pick gets donated to local food banks.

    If you want to pick yourself, freeze, dehydrate or can the fruit! There are so many great ways to preserve an abundance!

  4. Gina says:

    We had a pear tree as a kid and it would produce SO much fruit every fall! My grandpa used to can a bunch of it:) I would love a cherry tree someday…I don’t think I could ever get sick of NW cherries!

  5. It’s good to read a blog from someone who lives in a farm like me. I’m recently married so every day is discovering life in the farm for me. I’m in awe of the freshly picked fruits too, I can’t eat enough for dessert. My mom-in-law makes jams and marmalade from them.

    http://www.mariainschweiz.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

