i have cornmeal pie in my big blue eyes

One of the things I love most about living in the country also happens be one of the things I dislike most. Particularly when it’s necessary to make a quick jaunt into town for something you forgot to pick up earlier in the day. We live roughly 6 miles outside Newberg, OR which may not seem to be that far but trust me, it is. Especially when it requires stopping at the top of the driveway and getting out of your car to open the big gate, getting back in your car, pulling forward, getting out again to close the big gate, and then proceeding on  your way driving about a mile down a long dirt road. I love it as much as I hate it.

The other night I was preparing to start dinner, collecting the ingredients David and I had picked up at the store early during our day of errands together. I was planning on making cornmeal pie with scallions and feta to go with our steam artichokes and crab salad.  We had purchased everything I needed. Or so I thought. I had sworn I  just saw cornmeal in the pantry the other day when I was cleaning it out so I decided not to buy it at the store. As I was rummaging through the pantry trying to find it I realized what I thought was cornmeal was in fact cornstarch. Already in an off mood, I took a deep breath but it didn’t help. All hell was about to let loose  and I couldn’t tame the beast.

I was momentarily reverted back to circa 1985. I was a curly-haired strawberry blonde five-year old who liked to go by the name Mandy. I also could throw tantrums with the best of them over something as simple as McDonald’s accidentally putting mustard on my KETCHUP ONLY cheese burger. Back then you didn’t mess with my cheeseburgers and you especially didn’t put mustard on them!

It wasn’t one of my finer moments. I’m not too proud to admit that. At times I am pretty easy-going but I have my limits, especially when it comes to food. I tend to be like a dog when someone is waving a piece of meat in front of their nose. I fixate so much that I have been known to walk for hours down the streets of Paris looking for the most specific café that serves the most specific almond croissants I had four years earlier. I want what I want when I want it. And I’ll be damned, I wanted my cornmeal pie!

I proceeded to walk upstairs to David’s office, lower lip puffed out over my upper lip.

“What’s wrong babe?”

As tears slightly started to form in my eyes I replied, “We don’t have any cornmeal. I swore we had cornmeal so I didn’t buy any today at the store.”

(I really don’t think I do this moment justice nor paint an exact picture through words, but try to imagine an almost 31-year-old woman standing before her boyfriend imitating the tantrum of an emotional, overly tired 5-year-old. That should help.)

“Hmm, I was craving that cornmeal pie too.” All being said with a grin. (I think he was trying to make me laugh)

“THAT doesn’t help matters!” (stomp stomp…yes, that’s me actually stomping my feet on the wood floor in his office) “I’m going to the store.”

“Okay, go to the store.” David replies still smiling.

“I DON’T WANT to drive all the way into town to go the stinkin’ store! I hate living in the country!!!”

“Okay, don’t go to the store.”

“But I want cornmeal pie!! We don’t have ANYTHING else to cook.” (Total exaggeration)

“Grrr, fine, I’m going to the store.” I said as I slightly tilted my head and gave him the please come with me look.

“You want me to go to the store, don’t you?”

“No, I just want you to come WITH me…You know what, nevermind, I’m going to the store alone.”

“You’re kind of cute when you pout. Can you pick me up some beer?”

A slight growl came out of my mouth as I stomped out the front door.

All in all I made it to the store and managed to make it back with the one item that caused so much grief. As well as a case of PBR, walnuts, and a slice of New York Style Cheesecake. (It’s the least I could do for myself for having to run all the way back into town)

Life Lesson Learned:  I will never leave home again without taking inventory of what is in our refrigerator, pantry, and every closet and cupboard before going to the store.

And yes, the cornmeal pie was good. Damn good!

This entry was posted in Country Life, Farm Life, Vineyard, Wine Country and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to i have cornmeal pie in my big blue eyes

  1. I TOTALLY do the same thing when I’m in one of my moods. You’re not alone 🙂

  2. Jodi Stone says:

    I pout and stamp my feet too. It makes me feel better. 🙂

  3. Thank God for Cheesecake;)

  4. murphysrun says:

    Gee, I kind of saw the Lesson Learned as sometimes it’s good to forget something and have to go back into town. Sounds like with the beer and the cheesecake you came out ahead! 🙂

  5. Renee says:

    I hate when I forget something at the store too, but I at least have a corner market, a few gas stations and 3 grocery stores within 15 minutes from my house. I grew up in the country and it took us a good 45 minutes to get to the closest grocery store, so we usually bought at least 2 if not 4 carts full of food – we had to pack our own groceries, load, unload, and put away – it took about 3 hours to just go grocery shopping and was horrible if you forgot something. Love your post and glad to hear you got your cornmeal pie:)

  6. Ha! completely understand. I grew up in the country and know the pain of having to “go back”. Funny now that I live in the “big city”…not really, but it is bigger and we do have 3 Starbucks within 5 minutes of my home….thank goodness for that.
    Even funnier…we now think having to drive farther then 1/2 mile to get something is a hassle!

  7. JustaMOM says:

    As a fellow strawberry blonde 5 year old in a thirty-something body, I totally get you!

  8. Everyday is true. and i want to enjoy the same life.

Leave a Reply

