the best dang lemon bars (and they’re gluten-free)

I’ve really been into lemon desserts lately which is unusual because I’ve been known for years to devour anything chocolate and gooey and it was always my go-to sweet. Maybe my taste buds are changing or perhaps it’s the hot summer day mixed with the refreshing taste of lemon I love. Whatever the reason, I’m okay with it and I am excited to play around with the taste of lemon in future sweets.

I made these gluten-free lemon bars for a work party we had at our place yesterday. Since a majority of my co-workers are taking the gluten-free road as well, I thought I would try this recipe out on them. Success!

I originally found this recipe on Gluten-Free Nosh but changed a few things to fit my liking which basically meant adding more lemon of course!

My recipe is as follows:

For the crust:

1 cup butter (two sticks)

1/2 powder sugar

2 cups gluten-free flour (I use Bob Redmills)

Filling:

4 eggs

1 1/2 cups sugar

The juice from AT LEAST two lemons

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 tablespoon lemon zest, grated

The How To:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Butter your 13x9x2 inch baking dish.

2. Mix butter, powdered sugar and gluten-free flour. Make sure you cut in the butter until it is small pea-sized lumps coated with the flour and sugar mixture. Pour into buttered baking dish and pat down making sure all sides are even. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove and set aside.

3. In another bowl beat eggs adding the rest of your ingredients. Pour mixture over your baked crust. Return to oven and bake for 15-20 minutes.

4. Let cool.  It works best after they have cooled a decent amount, to then put them in the freezer. Right before you serve them, cut into the size you like and sprinkle powdered sugar over the bars. Serve to your mouth-watering guest. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Farm Life, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to the best dang lemon bars (and they’re gluten-free)

  1. teri Capalby says:

    looks beautiful and yummy, I might make these this week to take to Beaverfest on Sat. you’ve become quite the cook.

  2. Amanda says:

    Thanks Ma! They really were some of the best lemon bars I’ve ever had!

  3. Renee says:

    Looks delicious – will have to add to my gluten-free recipes (have a friend who has Celiac disease). Thanks for sharing – Take Care:)

  4. murphysrun says:

    Printed. I’ll give the recipe to my wife to try. Thanks for sharing it! I’ll get back to you. 🙂

  5. Anne says:

    These look good! I have made lemon pie a few times with a recipe that resembles this, though with gluten, but I just might try your recipe too 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. Gina says:

    I love lemon ANYthing! (plis those lemons make beautiful photos!) I just picked up some lavendar this weekend and want to try to bake it into something delicious…any ideas?!

    • Amanda says:

      Hmmm, what to make with lavender? I have been trying to think of something as well! Baked goods? Scones? Sugar cookies with lavender! Hope you had fun in my neck of the woods!

Leave a Reply

