chickens in t minus three weeks

I can hardly wait to wake up in the early hours of the morning, crawl out of bed and head downstairs, slipping on my muck boots to head out and collect our bounty of colorful and freshly laid eggs.

We found Gopherboy Farms via the internet and after much discussion have decided to have them build us our mobile barn house coop (pictures to come). We are so excited about this for many reasons. David’s excited about the sustainability aspect of raising and butchering our own chickens and me, well I think it’s safe to say I’m excited for raising BABY CHICKS! And, collecting the eggs.

We will begin by getting four layers from Gopherboy Farms and about 25 chicks that will need to live in a brooder for several weeks until they are of age to be released into the mobile coop with the layers.

This will be a great learning experience and I’m sure will make for some interesting stories to tell.

The way both David and I see it is like this…either we will both become vegetarian or we will gain a whole new respect for animals and what they give. For me, probably both.

This entry was posted in Chickens, Country Life, Farm Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to chickens in t minus three weeks

  1. Renee says:

    I grew up on a farm and we raised chics for food and eggs – you will gain a new respect for animals once you start this experience. The first time I bought store bought chicken and cooked it up I called my mom and asked her if I did something wrong because it just didn’t taste the same and it truly wasn’t – something about raising and feeding chickens how you want – my dad fed them organic and at about 18 pounds became dinner. Good luck and you probably will have some stories to share about this experience – just have fun with it!

    • Amanda says:

      I’m sure that was quite the adjustment going from farm fresh to grocery store aisle. I’ll make sure to share all the fun when it starts happening!

  2. murphysrun says:

    We’ll look forward to the stories, and tell David to get his camera going. 🙂

  3. You’ll get LOTS of stories from your chickens. They’re an absolute joy to raise! I still haven’t decided if we’re going to butcher our laying hens when they’re past their prime. I don’t know if I could do it myself.

    What types did you order?

  4. Jodi Stone says:

    I couldn’t do it! Cudos to you though.

  5. Anne says:

    Sounds lovely!! 🙂
    I suggested to Husband that we get chickens, but he immediately vetoed the suggestion. So loads of pictures and photos please, and I’ll live a bit through your blog

  6. Amanda says:

    We just placed our order! 25 baby chips will be here next week! I’m so excited.

Leave a Reply

