one man’s junk is another man’s treasure: composting

Between the two of us, David and I go through a lot of food and garbage. Sometimes it is rather amazing that we take out the garbage up to once a day. Before you jump to conclusions, we do recycle and I’ve set up a fancy system in the garage to separate glass, cardboard, plastic, and miscellaneous. However, we still manage to fill er’ up at a rather disturbing rate.

Aside from all the recycling we do, we still have a lot of waste, mostly food.

Growing up our neighbors had a compost bin. I never really understood it and honestly, I thought it was gross and at times it scared me. I mean, it had big worms crawling throughout it and it smelled.

When I grew up though and understood composting a little better, I always thought back to those neighbors and now I am rather proud of their efforts at being kind to the earth and their garden.

So here David and I are, in the mist of building our super cool 3-compartment composting bin. Well, we aren’t building it, his cousin is, and it’s going to be a beauty!

We have the space for it not to mention the waste. There is the want and need with my plan of expanding the garden 10 fold next spring. Now I just need to do a little research on the process of using it, finish slapping a few pieces of wood together and wala! We will be composting in no time!

Here is where the compost bin will go:

Here are the blueprints for the compost bin we are going to build:

Here is the compost been thus far:

And here is to saving the world (and our garden) one eggshell at a time! Cheers!

This entry was posted in Country Life, Farm Life, Garden, Little Projects, Vineyard and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to one man’s junk is another man’s treasure: composting

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I am so glad to see you are doing this Amanda. I would love to do this someday myself. For now yard waste/compost pick up is good enough for me. -Elizabeth

  2. Jodi Stone says:

    We have a compost pile in the back, but it is mostly leaves and ashes from the wood stove. We have to be careful where we throw food with a dog like Delilah around!

  3. JustaMOM says:

    Well done! I actually like the look of that think. Hmmm, maybe I should compost?

  4. Anne says:

    I’d love one of those. Unfortunately it would dominate our tiny garden.. 😦

  5. Very nice bin! The lid is a good idea. Mine attracts all kinds of critters.

  6. Viv says:

    Very nice compost bin. I wish our were that pretty! Just remember that once they are bigger your hen will eat a lot of your food scraps. The variety of diet is good for them 🙂 You can also put your scraps into a worm farm and use the worm juice to fertilise your vegetables.

  7. Renee says:

    We just compost within our garden right now – have a few places open to throw in food waste that is acceptable. We live in coyote and possibly bear country so have to be careful with food waste and protecting the garbage and recycling bins. A fed wild animal can become a dead wild animal – not on my watch – no feeding the wildlife. May need to consider a compost bin with a locking mechanism down the road. Thanks for sharing and enjoy composting.

Leave a Reply

