sometimes the good die young

I knew the day would eventually come. It could have happened when I was living in the suburbs of Seattle but it didn’t. It happened here, on the farm.

If you are an animal person it’s never easy losing one of them. In a post way back in June I talked about how I anthropomorphize. In writing it I was of course trying to be funny but in all honesty, there was a bit of truth in it. My pets are members of my family and it started way back when and to this day, hasn’t changed. They may not give monetarily or even be able to give their opinion on aspects of life but they do give something pretty darn special. Otherwise, nobody would have domesticated them to begin with.

Whenever I lose one I always find myself surprised by the sadness and huge amount of loss I feel. It’s an eerie feeling not knowing what happened. Our minds start to go to those sad places, those places where one wishes and prays they went instantly with little to no suffering. My mind goes to those places, especially when finding evidence in the yard of the contrary.

If there is something as a perfect pet it was her. It’s ironic, I never really wanted her in the beginning. For one, she didn’t have a tail. What cat doesn’t have a tail? But she did everything in her power to get my attention and I realized that I wasn’t leaving that shelter without her.

I know, I know. I sound like a crazy cat woman. But if that’s the label one wants to give me because I care for my pets and think of them as part of the family, well, I’ll wear that one proudly.

You were a sweet little girl Lucy. I’m glad your determination shined through and I got to have you for these past four years.

Taken by a friend who was watching her as I was traveling the world. Lucy in her snuggie.

I guess this is the part of farm life I know I’ll never get use to. Actually, this is the part of life I’m not sure I’ll ever get use to. To be honest, it’s just a part of life that sucks. That part where sometimes the good die young.

This entry was posted in Animals, Country Life, Family, Farm Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to sometimes the good die young

  1. Anne says:

    Poor kitty, and you. Animals have always been special to me, and losing one is never easy…

  2. Danielle says:

    Condolences. I genuinely fear the day something happens to my cat.

  3. Renee says:

    Fur babies are hard to lose, especially when they are still young and have many more years of life. I have lost a few pets and farm animals throughout my childhood and never got easier. I still remember my cat Squeeky who I had to put down at 19 and a lamb I tried to bring to life at his birth – black as coal. Hang in there and take care.

    • Amanda says:

      Thanks for all the sweet words! It’s very sad but it’s getting better. I just think of the sweet memories of her and smile 🙂

  4. Jodi Stone says:

    Sorry to hear about your loss.

  5. Ugh. Sorry to hear this. I’m tearing right up with you. 😦

  6. Leah says:

    I’m terribly sorry to hear about your loss. And sadly, this is the third little kitty I’ve known that’s recently passed on. Your photos are beautiful and I’m sure your memories are even better. Thanks for reminding me to go hug my cats.

  7. tita buds says:

    My two dogs are my first pets and I, too, tend to think of them as furry creatures with feelings and thoughts. Your pictures of Lucy hit home. It’s our pets’ crazy antics, gentle nature and little quirks that make even the thought of losing them unbearable.

  8. Caroline says:

    So sorry about your loss. I know how hard it is to lose a pet. 😦 We lost our cat a few years back. xx

  9. Joan Schnegg says:

    Amanda, I am just catching up on your blog since I was also away in NY. My heart goes out to you and I could not read this without crying. It also brings up memories of all the little ones I have lost but especially Momma Kitty and Sheba…two who lived with me in adult years, two who were ferral, then just happy to be a house/condo kitty, two I will never forget. Now I have Tavi. She is dear to both my husband and me…and even does tricks!

    See you soon…your last make-up in yoga!!!
    Joan

Leave a Reply

