when it rains, it pours…literally

The weather forecast for the valley has us at about 10 days of non-stop rain. None-Stop-Rain. I just checked the forecast and we are supposed to get over an inch of rain in the next 24 hours.

And so it begins.

Long gone are the days of walking barefoot through the grass as the hot rays of the sun kiss your tan skin and drops of sweat bead up, slowly sliding down your back. We made our first fire late Sunday morning and stoked the charcoal logs until we went to bed last night.

Outside, sounds that would resemble WWI echo from all sides but the normalcy of cannons and shotguns being fired start to go unnoticed and everyone goes about their day knowing that it is necessary. This is wine country after all and as we near harvest, the threat of bird damage to the grapes has to be controlled. Someway or another.

As I enter my second season in my new home I once again find myself learning something new. I’m use to rain. I grew up in Seattle after all, but that was different. Here, I’m miles away from entertainment that is at your fingertips and any friends for that matter. Instead I may have to dig a little deeper and find that girl who was once so creative and imaginative. Maybe this is perfect weather to finally teach myself how to sew or heaven forbid, maybe its perfect weather to cozy up on the couch and read a book. An actual book.

That sounds delightful. Any recommendations?

This entry was posted in Farm Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to when it rains, it pours…literally

  1. Renee says:

    I love reading and reading an actual book – since I read so much I have to go to the library for books or be broke. Perfect time to experiment with arts and crafts. Movie Marathon. I seem to find myself cleaning out the closets when I have free time – weird I know it! When I was unemployed due to a layoff it took me a few weeks, but I found a routine helped me while away the next 6 months.

  2. Rainy days are good days to read and craft, but they’re also good days to bake. You can’t beat the warmth from the oven and the delicious smells on a dreary day!

  3. On the bright side, you have a fire. I imagine the warmth and light of a fire is a help through the long rainy season there. I would love to give you a book recommendation! What do you like, generally? -kate

    • Amanda says:

      The fire is my absolute favorite part! Uh! I love all kinds of books but I think I’m wanting a good love story šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

