feature friday – just home made

The other night David and I, okay, David made Indian Curry for dinner. It was perfect for the blustery Sunday evening as we got cozy on the couch in front of the fire. We just bought a rice cooker and accompanied the curry with a steamy hot coconut rice with fresh cilantro.  It was delicious!

As we continue to play with vegetarian meals, we have realized various curries are a particular treat. Sometimes vegetarian meals can come off boring and lack something to be desired but with curries, wow! Your mouth is in a constant state of trying to identify all the flavors.

In my quest to find new and interesting blogs, I came across Just Home Made while looking through the blog list on Herbivoracious.

According to Radhika, the author, Just Home Made “is mostly about food that reminds us of home; that, which enriches us, comforts us and brings back old memories from childhood and good times with friends and family. Recipes here are a reflection of me, my roots, who I was, who I am and who I will be as I evolve with the foods I discover.” 

I hope you enjoy discovering some new and tasty meatless meals as much as I do!

Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in Feature Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to feature friday – just home made

  1. I love my rice cooker…use it all the time. I am interested in cooking with a little less meat. Our daughter doesn’t care for meat much at all. Curious about your coconut rice…did you use coconut water in your rice cooker? I like the quote from Just Home Made…so true.

    As an early childhood educator, I remember learning in a college course that food = love.
    A babies earliest show of love is to try to “feed” an adult. With either their fingers, or later actual food. They learn as a young infant that someone “feeding” them, loves them.
    A beautiful thought, I try to remember it when I am tired after a long day and not so happy about making dinner!

Leave a Reply

