my first friend

The other day upon arriving home from work I walked through the door and blurted out my good news, “I have a friend!” I said it with such excitement I surprised myself a little. David on the other hand looked at me with a confused look on his face.

“Well, that’s good news.” He replied. Still a little bewildered by my announcement.

I moved to Oregon the last week in May and over the last couple of months I’ve realized how much I miss having someone, besides my boyfriend, to talk to and hangout with. Not that I don’t love spending as much time as possible with him but as you get older I think you recognize how important having some close friends are. Plus, I think he gets a little tired of hearing about how bloated I feel and how I have nothing to wear.

Friends are important to your social life and to your sanity.

It’s hard not to get into a groove where your life becomes somewhat robotic. Friends, I believe, mix up the monotony that we all create in our lives at times. That shopping date or lunch with the girlfriends is something to look forward to. It’s free therapy, its laughter, its support and love and if your friends are those of great quality, it’s truth staring right back at you.

Friends add so much to your life.

This entry was posted in Country Life, Farm Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to my first friend

  1. Renee says:

    I have to agree it is nice to have girls to connect with, support and have some fun with. It took me a while when I moved out west to make friends and it sometimes happens in its own time. Enjoy:)

  2. teri Capalby says:

    so happy for you honey,,, you will always need your women in your life… they are the ones who will stand by you through lifes ups and downs…..love u

  3. tita buds says:

    Yes! to I-don’t-have-anything-to-wear girl talks, haha. I’m glad for you. 🙂

  4. Mai Ward says:

    Girlfriends are awesome. I’ve been married for a year and I do just about everything with my husband. But the day I talk to my best friend or go out with her I realize how badly I miss this kind of female bonding. At least you can talk with her about ANYTHING. And we girls can’t stay sane if we didn’t speak out our hearts and brains.

  5. hugmamma says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. Venting to friends over coffee sets the reset button. From there we can move forward, tackling the same old…as well as the…new and exciting. Lots of luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

